The kindness of strangers, a carrot and a snowman

We received this really nice message today from Verrill Farm customer Angela Murphy and wanted to share it with our customers…and hope that you’ll share it too. Maybe we can find out who the carrot giver was? Thanks for sharing, Angela, and let Parker know what a beautiful snowman that is !

“About a week after my brother passed away, I made a quick trip to Verrill Farm with Parker. As soon as we walked through the door he ran over to the vegetable stand, took hold of a carrot and said, “Mom!! This is the perfect nose for a snowman!”

“Of course, I told him to put it down and smiled at the other adults around us. It was October, we wouldn’t be needing a snowman nose anytime soon.

“How did I miss such a magical moment? I was on autopilot, running into grab groceries for the 1,567th time that week. Dragging my little one behind me. Tired, sad and grumpy.

“After telling him to hurry about a dozen times we headed to the car. A woman came running out of the store behind us and handed Parker the carrot. “I’m sorry, I hope you don’t mind, but that was the sweetest thing I’ve ever heard. If you put it in the refrigerator, it will keep until winter.”

“Thank you! I wish I knew your name or where you lived so that I could share this photo with you. I wish you knew how much that small gesture of kindness meant to us at that moment. Parker kept that carrot safe and sound. He checked on it frequently, until today.”

Leave a Reply

